when a man has doubts about women in church

{This is my reply to a response I received from a friend who read “{women} go tell the men” (click here to read). In my reply I address what I believe is a common struggle of people, especially leaders, concerning women in ministry.  I only share it for the content of my ideas and scripture references and it is in no way meant to expose a confidence. Out of my respect for him, the name has been changed and all the content of his response has been edited out.  It is my hope this will also help you as you keep asking, seeking and knocking for Truth.}

Good Morning Micheal,

Thank you for your response after reading my article entitled, “{women} go tell the men”.  I hesitated about sending it to you, because I did not want to put our friendship at risk. I respect you and your ministry too highly to cause unnecessary awkwardness. I also believe “forced” truth is ineffective and counter-productive, anyway.

Even though this is a subject you and I have never discussed, I have sensed your hesitation concerning the subject of God’s will for women in the Body. I don’t know what that hesitation stems from and will leave that between you and the Lord.

I dislike conflict immensely , but I dislike having to hide who I really am and what I really believe even more! So I had to be honest. It is a difficult thing to be vulnerable, unguarded and transparent. It leaves one with no defenses but the Lord.

In your response you indicated this is indeed a subject you have struggled with and aren’t entirely sure about. I appreciate your honesty and believe this is probably true for many in the church. Many have excepted status quo on this subject and not asked the Lord for His truth and revelation.  

Women are not given gifts of the Spirit because they are women. Neither are men given gifts of the Spirit because they are men. It is because they are God’s children.

For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.  For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. Gal 3:26-28

Much of the church still “sees” male and female. Much of the church still “looks” through the lens of the natural.  And much of the church still “sees” God giving spiritual gifts according to natural gender and not to His spiritual children according to His will.

They can not say as Jesus did, … Verily, verily, I say unto you, The Son can do nothing of himself, but what he seeth the Father do: for what things soever he doeth, these also doeth the Son likewise. John 5:19

Or,  ….whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak. John 12:50

Having said that, God does want order in the home. There is the realm of the home and the also the realm of the body of Christ. The church has failed to separate the two, promoting the man as the  authority over the female half of the body of Christ as well as the head of the home.

This is so wrong!  It is sin against God as well as sin against half of the body of Christ on earth. It is usurping the authority of Christ! Jesus is the head of the whole Body.

On the subject of order in the home, “Submission to her own husband”  means to adapt. Submitting one to another is adapting one to another. Submission, God-style will never allow anyone to rule over another person, in the home or in the church.

Lest the husband should misunderstand and think he has the “God-given right” to rule over his wife let me remind you, Jesus did not come to be served by His bride, He came to serve her. He came to lay down His life for her. He said it is the Gentiles who exercise lordship over others and it shall not be so among us, not in our homes and not in the church!

I am a woman by natural gender but I am a habitation of God by spirit.

Allow me to use Jesus as an example. We don’t have very many details about who he was as a natural man. He was born in Bethlehem to Joseph and Mary, probably worked as a carpenter. But as a thirty year old man I’m sure there are many things that could have been written to describe Him in His natural life. I believe the reason God didn’t give us many details in scripture is because Jesus was not a natural man. And neither are we, if we have been born again.

This was the problem in His home town and the reason He couldn’t do many mighty works there.  They could not “see” who He really was.  They said, “Aren’t you the carpenter’s son? We know your mother Mary, and your brothers, James, Joses, Simon and Judas. And all your sisters live here too!”  All they could “see” was the natural man.

They were offended at Him and that kept Him from being able to minister the power of God to them. They could not “see” He was the spiritual Son of God and not just a natural man from Nazareth.

The same thing still happens today. Many can not “see” the gifts of the Spirit resident in a woman who is born of God, because all they “see” is her natural gender.

Another example.  Peter was called onto the carpet about His visit to the Gentile Cornelius house and questioned about what happened there. He explained he “saw” the same gift given to the Gentile Cornelius family that had been given to the Jews on Pentecost. He then said, “What was I, that I could withstand God? Acts 11:17. 

Peter got a revelation that day! He was able to see  …there is neither Jew nor Greek, neither bond or free, neither male or female.

I do not desire to operate in any spiritual gift to promote myself or exalt myself.  I am happy to “prophesy” by pen and paper from behind the scenes and not even have my name mentioned.  But I am also happy to do it for the Lord in a manner that may not be as well received, when He asks me to.

My desire is to obey God for the glory of God and the benefit of the His Body.    

Blessings, Geneva

About Geneva

The road in my rear view mirror is marked by hard places. My Guide has been faithful. He came into my life and I was branded. Marked. Labeled. Ridiculed. Judged. Stoned. But the road ahead always looks grand and full of light! The furnaces from the past have only caused the fire of His Spirit to burn hotter. The edicts of man have tried many times to make me bend in worship to him, yet I have met the true Flame who delivers me in every furnace!
This entry was posted in women and church and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to when a man has doubts about women in church

  1. Pingback: does a woman’s freedom in church incite rebellion in the home | eatinglocusts

go ahead. you know you want to say something...

