source of true boldness {guest post–younger generations speaks}

{There is a younger generation rising up. And with all force of the Holy Spirit they speak boldly. This post is one of those voices crying from the wilderness. To keep from focusing on the writer, this person prefered a new name for the blog. Paz, who is born the first time somewhat reserved; born again as a dedicated temple of an outspoken Holy Spirit.}

As I was brushing my teeth in the wee hours of the morning this morning, I came to a realization.  Actually, I was brushing my teeth and thinking at the same time when this happened.   The Holy Spirit brought something to my attention.

By nature, and by that I mean my natural personality, I am not an outgoing person.  Not painfully shy or anything, but certainly not a “life of the party” type.  And I’m good with that.  I like plenty of personal space and “alone time.”  I don’t seek out confrontation, don’t have a horrible temper or anything, and don’t particularly care for loud public displays of any kind.

But I have noticed that, at certain times and in certain situations, something, or Someone, just comes over me.

Actually, it feels more like He comes up out of me.  Literally.  From right out of my belly.

When this happens, the message becomes like “a fire shut up in my bones,” as Jeremiah would say.  It has even been so strong at times that my body responds to it.  I physically, not just spiritually, feel it.

A hallmark of my subsequent behavior in these situations is boldness.  It is a boldness that does not come out of my mind or my will, it comes from within my spirit.

I have often heard Christians pray for boldness, try to conjure up boldness, and even insinuate that other Christians around them are less for not having enough boldness; but this  boldness that I have experienced at times is bigger than all that.  It’s alive. 

You don’t drag it along, it takes you for a ride.

Now, I certainly don’t disparage any believer for praying for boldness.  I do it.  The apostle Paul himself did it.  I believe we should.

But as I thought on this subject, the Holy Spirit made me realize that genuine boldness is really not as hard as I naturally assumed it to be.   And often we look for it in the wrong place.

You see, true boldness is only the normal manifestation of authority.

Someone who has complete authority in an area has no reason to be shy about making decisions or statements.  They don’t hide or prevaricate; they just do.  And who has more ultimate authority than the King of kings?

The boldness that I have been caught up in during different situations is only a side effect of the Lord’s absolute authority.  His is the final word on any subject.  Whether the hearer chooses to agree with Him or not.

Just before His ascension, Jesus said, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth.”

Jesus is not only the Alpha, He is the Omega.  He is not only the Beginning, He is the End.

He is the last Word on everything, at every time, for everybody.

As a man, when he was on earth, Jesus was the first person to be baptized by the Holy Spirit.  And the people noticed it.  They said, “We have heard many teachers.  There are all sorts of good and learned men out there who teach in the Temple and in all the synagogues, but we have never heard anyone who speaks with such Authority!”

There is something in the spiritual wiring, the heart, of all people that recognizes Authority when He draws close.  They may shut their ears and refuse to hear, their minds may never engage; but their spirits perceive their Maker’s voice.  That is why they are held accountable.

So when I get into those situations where I am just sitting there, minding my own business, and the Holy Spirit starts to rise up in me; when the heat in my bones starts getting uncomfortable, and I know I am a vessel He wants to pour Himself through in that moment, the boldness is something that spills out of Him.  Not me.

This boldness is not overbearing, cruel, or anything else unGodlyIt can’t bethe Holy Spirit is none of those things.  If these show up, they are put there by me; and I am in sin.

This boldness is not dependent on any part of my personality, only on my willingness to be a mouthpiece, to be obedient.  I may have to scrounge up the courage; but if I say what He is saying, the boldness just naturally rests there on His authority.

This boldness does and says things I had no plans to do or say.  It’s confrontational because it is holyIt kicks both sacred cows and corrupt leaders out of the temple. 

It often causes a public uproar.

If you are willing to be used by Him, you will find that the Holy Spirit is not finished speaking.  He is as radical and “outside-the-box” as He was in Jesus and the apostles’ day, when the whole world was turned upside down.

Being a house for the Holy One is not a static experience.

About Geneva

The road in my rear view mirror is marked by hard places. My Guide has been faithful. He came into my life and I was branded. Marked. Labeled. Ridiculed. Judged. Stoned. But the road ahead always looks grand and full of light! The furnaces from the past have only caused the fire of His Spirit to burn hotter. The edicts of man have tried many times to make me bend in worship to him, yet I have met the true Flame who delivers me in every furnace!
This entry was posted in church and the Holy Spirit, Guest post, kingdom principles, the younger generation speaks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to source of true boldness {guest post–younger generations speaks}

  1. Nic Thackwray says:

    Great description of how the Holy Spirit uses us as His mouthpiece! I know exactly what you mean. When the Spirit wants to speak through you, you have a choice to opt out, but if you opt in, then His voice coming out is almost uncontrollable.

    Matt 10:19 When they deliver you over, do not be anxious how you are to speak or what you are to say, for what you are to say will be given to you in that hour. 20 For it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.

    More of You in use Holy Spirit!

  2. Pingback: 120125–George Hach’s Journal–Thursday | George Hach's Blog

go ahead. you know you want to say something...

