Fear of the Lord

The Fear of the Lord

I decided to try doing a study on the Fear of the Lord.

In today’s church era of “Freedom and Grace” with dubious explanations of what Biblical freedom and grace actually are, it seems when I mention the Fear of the Lord it is usually met with resistance and fears of “Legalism and Law”. But there is a lot of scripture on the subject, both Old and New.

I must confess when I started the study I was almost overwhelmed by the sheer and vast number of scriptures on the subject. It is obviously not a side issue or a minor note with God. I believe I can safely say that, based on the amount of scripture He has dedicated to it.

So I decided to narrow this writing down to just scriptures from the books of Psalms and Proverbs. Not because they have the most scriptures on the subject, they don’t. The main reason I chose them is because they have clear and concise quotes that can not easily be misunderstood.

The following is only a portion of the scriptures concerning the Fear of the Lord mentioned in Psalms and Proverbs and a very small representation of the Fear of the Lord from the scriptures as a whole.

I do acknowledge it is rather lengthy, but it is all scripture and I double-dog dare you to actually read it! And I hope it helps you draw closer to the Father.

A. What is the Fear of the Lord?

1.To fear the LORD is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech. Pro. 8:13

2.The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever. The decrees of the LORD are firm, and all of them are righteous. Ps. 19:9

3.The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; sound understanding belongs to those who practice it. Praise of God endures forever. Ps.111:10

4.The fear of the LORD is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline. Pro. 1:7

5.The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. Pro. 9:10

6.The fear of the LORD teaches wisdom, and humility precedes honor. Pro. 15:33

7.By lovingkindness and truth iniquity is atoned for, And by the fear of the LORD one keeps away from evil. Pro. 16:6

B. Benefits for those who Fear the Lord

1.Come and hear, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me. Ps. 66:16

2.The LORD confides in those who fear him; he makes his covenant known to them. Ps. 25:14

3.The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them. Ps. 34:7

4.But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love, Ps. 33:18

5.But for those who fear you, you have raised a banner to be unfurled against the bow. Ps. 60:4

6.Surely his salvation is near those who fear him, that his glory may dwell in our land. Ps. 85:9

7.For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; Ps. 103:11

8.As a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him; Ps. 103:13

9.But from everlasting to everlasting the LORD’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children Ps. 103:17

10.He provides food for those who fear him; he remembers his covenant forever. Ps. 111:5

11.He fulfills the desires of those who fear him; he hears their cry and saves them. Ps. 145:19

12.The LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love. Ps. 147:11

13.The fear of the LORD adds length to life, but the years of the wicked are cut short. Pro. 10:27

14.Whoever fears the LORD has a secure fortress, and for their children it will be a refuge. Pro. 14:26

15.The fear of the LORD tendeth to life: and he that hath it shall abide satisfied; he shall not be visited with evil. Pro. 19:23

16.The reward of humility and the fear of the LORD Are riches, honor and life. Pro. 22:4

17.Fear the LORD, you his holy people, for those who fear him lack nothing. Ps. 34:9

18.You who fear him, trust in the LORD– he is their help and shield. Ps. 115:11

19.He will bless those who fear the LORD– small and great alike. Ps. 115:13

20.The fear of the LORD is a fountain of life, turning a person from the snares of death. Pro. 14:27

C. What should be our response to the Fear of the Lord?

1.Do not let your heart envy sinners, but always be zealous for the fear of the LORD. Pro. 23:17

2.Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil. Pro. 3:7

3.I am a friend to all who fear you, to all who follow your precepts. Ps. 119:63

4.Serve the LORD with fear and celebrate his rule with trembling. Ps. 2:11

5.Let all the earth fear the LORD; let all the people of the world revere him. Ps. 33:8

6.Let those who fear the LORD say: “His love endures forever.” Ps. 118:4

7.You who fear the LORD, praise him! All you descendants of Jacob, honor him! Revere him, all you descendants of Israel! Ps. 22:23

D. God’s warning to those who do not Fear the Lord.

1.Of David the servant of the LORD. I have a message from God in my heart concerning the sinfulness of the wicked: There is no fear of God before their eyes. Ps. 36:1

2.God, who is enthroned from of old, who does not change– he will hear them and humble them, because they have no fear of God. Ps. 55:19

3.Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer; they will seek me diligently but will not find me. Because they hated knowledge and did not choose the fear of the LORD, Pro. 1:28-29

E. God’s willingness to teach us the Fear of the Lord.

1.Come, my children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the LORD. Ps. 34:11

2.Teach me your way, LORD, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name. Ps. 86:115.

3.My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding–indeed, if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God. Pro. 2:1-5

About Geneva

The road in my rear view mirror is marked by hard places. My Guide has been faithful. He came into my life and I was branded. Marked. Labeled. Ridiculed. Judged. Stoned. But the road ahead always looks grand and full of light! The furnaces from the past have only caused the fire of His Spirit to burn hotter. The edicts of man have tried many times to make me bend in worship to him, yet I have met the true Flame who delivers me in every furnace!
This entry was posted in church and the Holy Spirit, encouragement for the Body, kingdom principles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

go ahead. you know you want to say something...

